Liz Sung, Office of Career Services

I step into Liz’s office at the Career Center and she chuckles embarrassedly that she’s the one being interviewed. It’s almost funny to be doing her job, in a sense. As we settle into the questions, Liz and I start joking and getting silly. Note to self: definitely come back and see Liz for career advice in the fall.

CL: What brought you here to Mailman?

LS: I went to school part-time at Teachers College, Columbia University, where I received my MA and Ed.M. degrees for psychological counseling. I was working full-time in Human Resources at the time. Interning at the New School career services is where I realized how much I enjoyed the type of work so, I decided to pursue this career.

CL: How long have you worked at Mailman?

LS: I have been here since February 2008, so a little over 4 years.

CL: What’s your official position/role?

LS: I am the Assistant Director of Career Advising and Programs. I provide students and alumni with one-on-one career counseling, resume and CV critiquing, and mock interviewing. I also assist students with any other career related needs such as how to negotiate salary, and how to deal with a job offer. Additionally, I collaborate with the career services staff members to create and coordinate workshops and information sessions as well as Career Day events.

CL: What’s the most interesting experience you’ve had while working at Mailman?

There has not been one particular experience that was interesting or event that left a strong impression but when I first came to Columbia University, I used to get asked a lot, ‘What department are you in?’ I guess a lot of people assumed I was a student too, which is kind of funny. (Liz laughs). Overall, the most interesting experience has been meeting different types of students and learning from them on a daily basis. I really love that Mailman has a diverse student body and that there is a unique story to each and every student.

CL: What do you enjoy about working at Mailman? What’s the best part of your job?

LS: I really enjoy interacting and connecting with students from all around the world, not just students who are culturally different, but students with unique personalities from all walks of life.

CL: Where did you grow up and how long have you lived in New York City?

LS: I was born in Pusan, South Korea and came to the US when I was in elementary school. I grew up in South Jersey and currently live in North Jersey. I have gone to school and worked for a while in the city though.

CL: What’s your favorite spot in NYC?

LS: (I think I’ve finally hit on a hard question as Liz utilizes a classic interview tactic and takes a moment to gather her thoughts). I love everything about the city. Each part of the city has its own beauty. I love walking around and enjoying the multiplicity of the neighborhoods. I like going to Lincoln Center’s Midsummer Night Swing. I am a foodie so I love going to cafes and restaurants and checking out new places. I am very open to exploring different types of events and cuisines.

CL: What do you recommend for new students to check out?

LS: Definitely the highline because it is such a unique spot and so unexpected in a big city. I think it is great for students to take time to get out and enjoy the city in order to create a balance between life and school. (Amen to that!)

CL: What are some of your hobbies?

LS: I used to play squash. I love ballet so I enjoy going to New York City Ballet. I used to take dance classes. I enjoy spending time with family and friends, checking out different places, musicals and Broadway shows. I am also a huge Yankees fan.

CL: What is an interesting fact about you that most people at Mailman do not know?

LS: Back in the day… I used to be a cheerleader in high school.

Interviewed by Chenxi Li, Communications Chair

